Mountain Province | Official Website

Early Warning Systems installed in hazard areas in MP

by tester

Bontoc, Mountain Province – With the aim of preventing loss of lives and damage to properties, Early Warning Systems (EWS) were installed in identified hazard areas in the province. This was made possible with the Provincial Government of Mountain Province closely working with the Municipal Local Government Units (LGUs), National Government Agencies (NGAs), and other stakeholders.

Among these is the Deep-seated Catastrophic Landslides (DEWS-L) installed by a team from the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (PHIVOLCS) and University of the Philippines-Diliman (UPD) in partnership with the Department of Science and Technology (DOST) in Barangay Tue of Tadian and Barangay Antadao in Sagada. The landslide monitoring system can accurately and cost-effectively monitor slopes with a series of sensors that measure soil moisture and slope movements.

The sensors use power available from an electric grid, but have back-up batteries in case of power failures. It is buried vertically in the bedrock of the areas that are being monitored for possible landslides. Also, the landslide sensors log ground movement electronically and transmit a report every ten seconds to the National Institute of Geological Sciences (NIGS), which serves as a central base station. Geologists then process and analyze the data, measuring various parameters that affect the sturdiness of slopes, such as rainfall intensity and moisture content. Alert messages shall be sent through cellular phone by the PhiVolcs and UPD to the affected communities. Alert Level Zero (0) implies that there is no significant movement and the community may continue with their daily tasks. Alert Level 1 implies that there is a significant movement of slope or grounds and the community must prepare for evacuation while alert level 3 indicates that there is a significant movement of the slope/ ground and the community must evacuate the area.

Aside from these, the Philippine Weather Foundation Incorporated based in Taguig City, Manila installed a Weather Fore¬cast System in some areas in Mountain Province and Baguio City. Also, an Automated Weather Station was installed in Sitio, Khefa, Barangay Samoki, Bontoc which the Mines and Geosciences Bureau – Cordillera Administrative Region (MGB- CAR) recently recommended the relocation of the residents living on the foot of the mountain as it is threatened by landslide and rock fall.

Meanwhile, continuing information education campaigns and earthquake drills were conducted by the Provincial Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (PDRRMC) thru the PDRRM Office in communities where the identified faultlines traverse. Digdig Fault Line traverses Barangays Bontoc ili, Alab oriente, Balili, and Gonogon all in Bontoc; Barangays Bun-ayan, Busa, Lagan, Capinitan, Gayang, Losad, Namatek, Napua, and Tambingan all in Sabangan; Monamon Norte in Bauko; Barangays Bunga, Cagubatan, Kayan West, Dacudac Mabalite, and along Pandayan in Tadian; Barangay Belwang towards Bekigan in Sadanga, and Barangay Lias Kanluran, Macalana, Gawana, Fiangtin and Latang all in Barlig. The Abra River Fault Line traverses Barangay Pudo and Tonglayan, both in Natonin.

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *