Mountain Province | Official Website


For decades, the whole Cordillera region, was identified by this one name-MOUNTAIN PROVINCE. She became in 1907, a special province of the Philippines composed of the sub-provinces of Bontoc-Lepanto-Amburayan, Ifugao, Kalinga, Benguet, Apayao. Mr. Samuel Kane, the Provincial Supervisor was appointed Governor and Bontoc was made the provincial capital.

A year after, Mountain Province was further subdivided into seven (7) sub-provinces: Benguet, Bontoc, Ifugao, Lepanto, Amburayan, Kalinga, and Apayao. Amburayan later was fused with Bontoc and Lepanto with Benguet to make up now five (5) sub-provinces popularly known as BIBAK (Bontoc, Ifugao, Benguet, Apayao & Kalinga). This act of subdividing did not stop there. The mountaineers incessantly clamored for further division for a better and more workable political and geographical grouping. A series of political leaders of the Mountain Provinces played great roles in pushing for this subdivision: Hon. Henry Kamora, Benguet Representative to the Lower House of Congress in 1925; Hon. Alfredo G. Lamen and Hon. Luis Hora in 1962; and Hon. Duyan and Hon. Hora in 1965. Finally on June 18, 1966 the Mountain Province which we have now was politically created by virtue of RA 4695, the Subdivision Law of Mountain Province approved by then President Ferdinand E. Marcos. The five (5) distinct provinces of Benguet, Kalinga, Apayao, Ifugao and Mountain Province were finally born. The sub-province of Bontoc under the old Mountain Province is now renamed as Mountain Province with Bontoc as its capital town.

On Friday, April 7, 1967, a year after the Subdivision Law was approved, the “new” Mountain Province had become legally and officially operational with the following set of officials: Congressmen-Luis Hora, Governor – Alfredo G. Lamen, Vice-Governor- Victor S. Dominguez, Board Member- Pio Felwa, Alfonso Layug and Alejo Manao. April 7 was adopted as the charter day anniversary of the province through Provincial Board Resolution No. 69, dated June 10, 1980. President Fidel V. Ramos declared April 7 as the Mountain Province Foundation Day on February 28,1993 through Proclamation No. 14.