Mountain Province | Official Website

MP recognizes most functional child protection committees, conducts provincial children’s contest

by Erwin Batnag

mountain province

Awarding for the most functional elementary school-based child protection council.

Bontoc – The awarding of winners for the 2019 Search for the Most Functional Child Protection Committee – Elementary Level was held on November 27, 2019 in the capital town.

The search was initiated by the Provincial Council for the Protection of Children (PCPC) to recognize active and functional CPCs in both public and private elementary schools in the province.

Lagawa Elementary School in Bauko was adjudged as the most functional elementary school-based child protection committee in the province and was awarded P40,000 and a certificate of recognition.

Banao Elementary School in Bauko was second while Angkileng Elementary School in Sagada landed on the third place and received an amount of P30,000 and P20,000 respectively, plus certificates of recognition.

Bantey Elelmentary School in Tadian, Natonin Central School and Bauko Elementary School received P10,000 each as consolation prize with certificates of recognition.

The awarding was led by PCPC Chair and Governor Bonifacio C. Lacwasan, Jr. According to him, the council will continue to implement the search to monitor the implementation of child policies in the province and it is also one way of supporting the national government’s efforts in the promotion of child rights and protection.

The different child protection councils were assessed based on the four indicators: organization of Child Protection Committee (10%); conduct of regular quarterly meetings supported by minutes duly signed by the secretariat and committee chairperson with attached attendance sheet (10%);policies and plans which include CPC annual action plan, school-based child protection and/or anti-bullying policies and written procedures on disciplinary proceedings (30%); and accomplishment report as per CPC action plan and feedback mechanism (50%).

Meanwhile, the Provincial Children’s Contest that revolves on this year’s National Children’s Month celebration theme, “Karapatang Pambata: Patuloy na Pahalagahan at Gampanan Tungo sa Magandang Kinabukasan,” was held earlier on November 26.

The competition consisted of three categories namely: singing, declamation and draw and tell. The different municipalities have previously conducted their own municipal children’s contest and the winners in the three categories were the participants in the provincial contest.

Both the winning day care child and mentor day care worker in each category received cash prizes in the amounts of P1,000 for the first placer, P800 and P600 for the second and third placers respectively, and the amount of P500 each was given as a consolation to other participants.

For the singing contest, Agwey Lliodifaine Apongao of Bontoc (Ban-ay Talubin CDC) and Mhardy Flor Lewis of Besao (Ambagiw DCC) tied for the first place while Emjhey Nayam-an of Paracelis (Caraway DCC) and Jessel Ann Egcatan of Sagada (Poblacion DCC) tied for the second place.

For the oratory, poem or declamation category, Francy Deck Watting of Sadanga (Sacasacan CDC) was adjudged as the winner for his piece while Ammerrah Carles of Sabangan (Madepdeppas CDC) and Faith Focang of Bontoc (Upper Mainit CDC) tied for the second place.

For the draw and tell category, Lorrie Ann Abalos of Paracelis (Natallongan DCC) was adjudged as the winner while Shela Ollayan of Besao (Banguitan DCC) and Zykierah Zerah Chumalan tied for the second place.

The awarding ceremony was held after the governor’s State of the Children Address on Wednesday.

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *