Mountain Province | Official Website

Mountain Province Vice Mayors’ League elects new set of officers

by Erwin Batnag

vice mayors of mountain province

DILG-MP Provincial Director Anthony Manolo I. Ballug officiates the oath-taking rite for the newly-elected officials of the Vice Mayors’ League of the Philippines- MP Chapter.

Bontoc – The Vice Mayors’ League of the Philippines – Mountain Province Chapter has elected a new set of officers on August 16, 2019.

Besao Vice Mayor June L. Lopsoten was elected as the provincial league’s president during a poll at the Pearl Café and Restaurant in the capital town that was spearheaded by the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) – Mountain Province.

Sagada Vice Mayor Felicito O. Dula was elected as the league’s vice president while Vice Mayor Esden P. Dario of Sabangan was re-elected as treasurer. Natonin Vice Mayor Christopher B. Bayowan was elected as the league’s auditor while Bauko Vice Mayor Bartolome B. Badecao was elected as Press Relations Officer.

The members of the Board of Directors are Vice Mayors Eusebio S. Kabluyen (Bontoc), Alfonso D. Polan (Tadian), Albert T. Ayao-ao (Sadanga), David Osborn M. Fomocod (Barlig) and Lister M. Carlos (Paracelis.)

The election was immediately followed by the oath-taking of the newly elected members of the Vice Mayors’ League which was administered by DILG-MP Provincial Director Anthony Manolo I. Ballug.

Ballug urged the newly elected officers to make their organization functional and share the good legislation practices in dealing with issues and concerns that affects the province as a whole.

In his message, Lopsoten expressed optimism that the league’s officers will collaborate in strengthening legislative measures that are beneficial to Mountain Province’s constituents.

Further, Gov. Bonifacio C. Lacwasan, Jr. upon hearing the result of the poll, expressed his support to the new set of officers of the Vice Mayors’ League of Mountain Province.

The Local Government Code of 1991 and the Philippine Constitution provide that the Vice Mayor’s League of the Philippines shall have the primary purpose of ventilating, articulating and crystalizing issues affecting city and municipal governments especially those concerning local legislation.

Meanwhile, PD Ballug announced that the elections for the Provincial Councilors’ League and Mayors’ League- Mountain Province Chapters were scheduled on August 23 and August 28, respectively.

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

One thought on “Mountain Province Vice Mayors’ League elects new set of officers”

  1. manang lily says:

    congratulations..honorable june lopsoten..