Mountain Province | Official Website

Mountain Province Day- Sports Activities Results

mountain province day phythopharma winners

BONTOC – The Team Aves of Bontoc, Mountain Province overruled in the 1st “Football sa Kalye” (Futsal) competition as part of the weeklong activities of the 47th Mountain Province Foundation Day and 10th Lang-ay and Cultural Festival held on April 3 at the Eyeb Ground here.

According to Provincial Sports Development Officer Arnaldo Petten, only three teams participated in the said sports event.

He said that Team Aves coached by Geofrey Alvin Ticangan will be receiving P4, 000 cash prize and medals as the overall champion.

Petten added that Team Tangeb United Sagada coached by Kehvin Luna ranked 1st runner up and will be receiving medals and P3,000 cash prize. Team Lykan comprising players from Bontoc coached by Kevin Fegcan will be receiving P2, 000 cash prize and medals after landing to the third rank.

The Provincial Sports Development Officer further said that their office is already preparing the necessary documents so that the winners will be able to get their cash prizes at the Office of the Provincial Treasurer.

In addition, Petten explained that Futsal is a sports event played by 6 players per team while the playing area has a size of the basketball court.

Meanwhile, he said that combative sport was also included in the sports activities in the weeklong celebration of the province. However, wushu was the only combative sports conducted by the PSDO at the Eyeb covered court here last April 5.

Relative to this, CJ Moling was declared champion in the 65 Kgs. after dominating the match with his opponent Rein Apangchan.

In the 55 Kgs. category, Dave Cabfilan overpowered Lester Chumawar while in the Mike Chumawar defeated his opponent Kieran Canisi in 47 Kgs. category. Also, Brenette Fakat won over Jeralda Batollog in the 47 Kgs. in the women category.

Towards this end, Petten explained that the winners in every category will be receiving cash prize amounting to P1, 000 each while their opponents will be receiving P800.00 each.

Other sports event conducted is the PhytoPharma Marathon early morning of April 7 from the Provincial Capitol Frontage going to Sadle, Talubin and coming back to Bontoc.

Records from the PSDO shows that out of the 43 participants, 9 years old Jersey Bragado is the youngest while 59 years old Johnny Angitag Sr. is the oldest who was able to finish the 20 Kilometers marathon.

Petten explained that the runners where categorized according to their ages as follows:
Category 1 Category 2
(13-14) (18-25)
Champion : Wade Bulagsay Champion : Gerald Decawen
1st Runner Up : Clarence Chakwag 1st Runner Up : Jonathan Fatawil
2nd Runner Up : Angelo Constancio 2nd Runner Up : Alexander Pengwiyen

Category 3 Category 4
(26-33-41) (42-49)
Champion : Richard Decawen Champion : Cudli Castro
1st Runner Up : Martin Angupa 1st Runner Up : Roland Odsey
2nd Runner Up : Roland Wangwang 2nd Runner Up : Ferdinand Adajar

Meanwhile, Petten said that the youngest and oldest participants and the winners in the different categories received medals and trophies. Also, the youngest and oldest participants and the champion of each category will be receiving P700 cash prize each, the 1st runner ups will be receiving P500 each, while the 2nd runner ups will be receiving P300 each.

In addition, all the participants who were able to finish the PhytoPharma Marathon were given medals and free T-shirt.